Brain: Please stop living in the future!

‘I want results. I should be already successful. I’m not sure I’m on the right track.’

Do you recognise yourself in any of the previous sentences? Well… I do. In all of them, in fact. And it’s hard, I know it very well: It’s not an easy task to control anxiety. To live in the future. Mainly when TODAY you have bills to pay, impatient family members to answer to and social norms to follow.

And my mind was filled with that type of questions until a very short while ago. It was torturing me so much that I’d have to repeat several times to myself how much bravery one needs to do what I did: To throw oneself in the unknown with hope, a plan and a great will to succeed.

But – Will I?

 Shit, (I answered) how should I know?

And this may sound stupid, but that sentence set me free. With this new answer in mind, I searched for a resolution that could help me achieve what I want. And this new resolution was simple:

“I’ll just do my fu**ing best.”

If you already spent some time deciding what you want to do, if you believe your option will make you happy and realised, if it will make you feel fulfilled, then close your eyes and stop second guessing yourself. Please. Because I did it for far too long and I can assure you: it’s a shitty thing to do. It brings pain and agony – and then inaction.

You know – your results don’t need to be brilliant on your first try; they don’t need to be perfect. You just HAVE to do something. Anything. Do whatever you believe you need to make your vision come true; do it! Weight your decision, be careful (mainly with monetary questions), trace a plan – and then simply follow it!

Do it without really thinking about how rich you’ll be tomorrow. Do it without wondering if it’ll make you a fortune, if it’ll bring you fame and success. Do your best in what you decide to do, being it a new recipe, a song, a poem, that report your boss asked or the creation of a new NGO. Do your best.Because if you do it, I promise you: one day you’ll impress yourself.

But before you start thinking life’s a flower-scented pink cloud or bs like that, remember to keep a foot on the ground. Because sure, ‘follow your dreams’ – but remember you do need to think about money and fortune and your bills – but not every second of your day.

We can focus on one thing at a time.

x Ligia

 

Leave a Reply

